Questioning the Bible

Shaleena
6 min readMar 22, 2021

--

Voddie Baucham says of the Bible that it “is a reliable collection of historical documents written by eyewitnesses during the lifetime of other eyewitnesses. They report supernatural events that took place in the fulfillment of specific prophecies and claimed that their writings are divine rather than human in origin.

If the Bible is making all these claims of historical veracity and spiritual significance, then it most definitely needs to be investigated. Can the stories found in it line up with what we know about history? How does its historical veracity impact its spiritual truths?

Ask Good Questions

As a Christian, these are important questions to ask; after all, my whole worldview is wrapped up in the trustworthiness of this book. Fortunately, as a Christian, I am free to search the Scriptures, ask questions, and mull over tough topics. It is even recommended and commended.

John 5:39 Search the scriptures; for in them ye think ye have eternal life: and they are they which testify of me.

Acts 17:11 These were more noble than those in Thessalonica, in that they received the word with all readiness of mind, and searched the scriptures daily, whether those things were so.

Isaiah 1:18a Come now, and let us reason together, saith the LORD…

Could this mean that the Bible can stand up to scrutiny?

It’s true that there is a fine line between questioning God because of animosity and asking God questions because of clarity. Just compare Nicodemus in John 3 against the Pharisees in Matthew 22 and you will see the difference.

Take Up the Challenge

This is one of the reasons why I like to travel so much. The Bible mentions events and people connected with real places. We can actually go to these places! Well, when there’s no COVID keeping us away. Personally, I think this is God’s way of challenging us. This is His story and he gives us enough details to check its veracity for ourselves.

I want to share with you just two of the many Biblical sites/items that I enjoyed seeing on my travels. There are plenty of sites and items that you can visit or research that will help to answer those questions that challenge your personal faith. My hope is that by reading this, you will realize that it is okay to ask questions and to look for answers. God is big enough to handle your questions.

Corinth, Greece

Corinth is beautiful. It sits just next to the Gulf of Corinth and is surrounded by a range of low mountains known as the Oneia Mountains. Go ahead and search for some photos of this place. You’ll see how stunning it is and start planning your next trip with one look.

I’ve been to Corinth three times in the past four years, and if I could, I would leave today to go back. One reason for this is that there is so much archaeological evidence for New Testament history just in this one place.

The Erastus Inscription

Erastus is mentioned by name three times in the New Testament text. It is inferred from Romans 16 that Erastus was an official of the city of Corinth and a friend to Paul. His name is unusual and has brought much criticism to the NT text. But, when this inscription was found and dated to the first century, it gave a little more weight to the argument that the NT is an accurate account.

What this inscription says is that “Erastus in return for his aedileship laid (the pavement) at his own expense”. Many scholars believe that the Erastus who paved the road in Corinth and had his name memorialized in this inscription is the same man mentioned in the New Testament. After all, Erastus was an oikonomos (steward or manager) of the city according to Romans 16:23. If these are the same people then this man was wealthy and influential.

Christianity really did turn the world upside down.

The British Museum

Sometimes you can’t make it to the country of origin, but sometimes it doesn’t matter. The British Museum in London has so many things on display that I can’t imagine ever getting bored walking through it.

Lamassu at the British Museum

I’m probably never going to make it into countries like Iraq or Iran so this is as close as I can get to see these sites. These winged lions are called Lamassu. They are remnants of the great Assyrian Empire that you can read about in the Old Testament. There is nothing apologetic about them that I know of, I just think they are interesting. To see them gives me a little insight into what life was like three thousand years ago.

What is apologetic in the Assyrian area of the British Museum is the Taylor Prism. It contains the exploits of Sennacherib against the kingdom of Judah during the reign of Hezekiah. The story is related in Isaiah 36 & 37; 2Kings 18; & 2 Chronicles 32. It mentions the destruction of Lachish and the siege of Jerusalem; however, it never mentions that Jerusalem was taken or destroyed. This coincides with what the Bible says about Sennacherib’s siege of Jerusalem.

The Taylor Prism at the British Museum

Armchair Archaeology

Strictly speaking, I’m an armchair archeologist. I’ve never once been on an archaeological dig and I don’t have a degree in the field…yet. Also, things are crazy right now and I don’t know when I’ll be able to travel to all my favorite historical sites again. Fortunately, we live in a time when we can get a lot of information from our living room. With that in mind, open up a new browser and get to searching some of your favorite Biblical stories via these wonderful online sites.

Epic Archaeology

Join Ted Wright as he examines and explains some of the most amazing things about Biblical archeology. He gives tours at the Oriental Museum in Chicago, Illinois, and offers online classes for those who would like to know a little more about these topics.

Bible Archaeology Report

Bryan Windle manages this website that is filled to the brim with Archaeological Biographies and reports on the Top Ten Biblical Archeology Findings for each year. If there is a Biblical character that you always wanted to know a little more about, then chances are, Bryan will have some resources for you.

Associates for Biblical Research

This group of researchers operates with the purpose of discovering the world of the Bible. Their staff is full of real-life archeologists who are willing to get their hands literally dirty. They then diligently study what they and others find that gives credence to biblical accounts.

Concluding Words

My vision for writing this article is not to prove any particular piece of biblical history to you, but rather to show you that there is evidence out there. What I really hope for you is that this article encourages you to embrace your doubts and take them to God. Give him the chance to prove himself strong.

I have many questions but I don’t fear them. I may not get them all answered in my lifetime but I can see there is so much evidence to base my faith upon. I get the opportunity to live in a time of research and accessible knowledge and I get to ask questions to seek answers. I hope you start asking questions and seeking answers.

When things open up again, I hope to see you visiting these wonderful sites and others like them. Until then, use the resources we do have. I’m excited to hear about your journeys.

--

--